Awards, Recognition, and Religious Emblems

Boy Scout Awards

  • Hiking
  • 50 Miler Award
  • Historic Trails Award
  • Aquatics
  • Board Sailing BSA
  • BSA Life Guard
  • Kayaking, BSA
  • Mile Swim
  • Scuba, BSA
  • Snorkeling BSA


Service, Conservation, and Scoutcraft

  • Den Chief Awards
  • Fireman Chit
  • Hornaday Awards
  • Leave No Trace Patch
  • Paul Bunyan
  • Totin' Chip
  • World Conservation Award





  • Emergency Preparedness Award
  • Heroism Awards
  • International Activity Badge
  • International Youth Exchange
  • Interpreter Strips
  • Physical Fitness Award
  • Recruiter Strip
  • Religious Emblems
  • Spirit of the Eagle Award
  • Ready and Prepared Award (UNITLEVEL)
  • National Honor Patrol Award


The Mile Swim and Snorkeling BSA emblems are designed to be worn on only the Scout's swim trunks. That's the same place where the Aquatics Instructor, BSA and the Scout Lifeguard emblems go as well.

The Paul Bunyan Woodsman Award goes on a Scout's backpack or blanket or on a patch jacket or vest. The same goes with the full color Historic Trails and 50-Miler emblems. The leather emblems only go on a backpack.

You can find out more information about the various awards at the following website:

Religious Emblems for Boy Scouts                                                 Tr701_TIP_Guide_ver2010_page1_image44.jpg


"A Scout is Reverent." All Scouts show this by being faithful in their

duty to God. Some go further and give special service. This can qualify them for a religious emblem. Such an emblem is not a Scouting award. His religious leader confers it on a Scout.  Each faith has its own requirements for earning its emblem. Listed below are the BOY SCOUT and VARSITY SCOUT emblems and where to find out about them. Before writing or visiting your local council service center, check with your religious leader. For more information, see the BSA website for the religious awards program:


Most of the awards consist of bar pins, ribbons, and pendants, and are worn on the uniform above the left pocket on formal occasions. In addition, youth or adults who earn any of the religious awards may wear the Religious Emblem Square knot, shown at the top of this page, on the uniform over the left pocket. One or more miniature devices are affixed to the knot to indicate which level(s) of the award was earned.



TroopTrackHQ, LLC 51 E 3900 N Vineyard, UT 84059
TroopTrack TroopTrack is not affiliated with or endorsed by Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts of the USA, Baden Powell Service Association, Trail Life U.S.A., or Scouts Australia. Any usage of BSA, GSUSA, TLUSA, or SA terminology on this site is for informational purposes only and should not be interpreted as an endorsement of this product by any of these organizations. © 2008 - 2024 TroopTrackHQ, LLC. All rights reserved